BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
PaulaC
Fluorite | Level 6

I have little experience with handling survey data with this many questions and that requires manipulation.  I have survey data with 38 questions and the responses are recorded in the dataset as Not at all, A little bit, Somewhat, Quite a bit,  and Very much.  I am trying to convert the responses to numeric scores so they can be summed up.  I would like the recode to be Not at all=0, A little bit=1, Somewhat=2, Quite a bit=3 and Very much=4. My Q1-38 are a numbered range so I would think I should be able to use the range during recoding. 

I am trying to avoid typing Q1-Q38 individually in an if then else statement.  I saw the "of" statement and thought it may be useful but it seems that the scenarios I have seen it used in are for mathematical operations.

Current format of the data:

patient ID VISIT Q1                  Q2             Q3             Q4               Q5....             Q38

1                1       somewhat     very much   a little bit   somewhat   quite a bit....   very much

1                2       a little bit     somewhat   very much   somewhat   quite a bit....   a little bit

I would like it to be:

patient ID VISIT Q1                  Q2             Q3             Q4               Q5....             Q38

1                1       2                     4                1                 2                3....                4

1                2       1                     2                4                2                 3...                 1

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can handle this recoding? I am using SAS 9.4.  Please let me know if any additional information is needed.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DanielSantos
Barite | Level 11

Hi.

Could be done with a custom informat and arrays.

proc format;
     invalue code (upcase)