BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bldudley
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

I am a student learning SAS programming. I've been tasked with creating a segment

Here is the last results that I am using:

LastResults.JPG

Now what I need to do is:

Create 3 new "Customer Purchase Segments":

i)  The fans that bought all four merchandise items.  Name this "All Merch".

ii)  The fans that did not buy any merchandise items.  Name this "No Merch".

iii)  The fans that bought at least one item, but not more than 3 items.  "Some Merch".

I suspect that I am supposed to use if / then statements, but I'm not sure. Since I have 4 columns of data to consider (highlighted in the image above), I'm not entirely sure how to write this.

Please help.

Thank you so much, in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

And another idea:

data profoot.pro_football_segments;
   set profoot.pro_football_groups;
   total_merch= sum(bought_other_merch='Yes',bought_sweatshirt='Yes',bought_team_hat='Yes',bought_team_tshirt='Yes');
   /* typically at this point I would create a custom format for the total and be done*/
   length segment $ 20;
   select (total_merch);
      when (0) segment='No merch';
      when (4) segment='All merch';
      otherwise segment='Some merch';
   end;
run;

The Total_merch numeric may be useful other purposes.

A format like this could be used to format total_merch for analysis or report purposes.

proc format library=work;
value total_merch
0,. = 'No merch'
4   = 'All merch'
1,2,3 = 'Some merch'
;
run;

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Example:

if bought_hat='Yes' and bought_tshirt='Yes' and bought_other='Yes' and bought_sweatshirt='Yes' then segment='All Merch';
--
Paige Miller
bldudley
Obsidian | Level 7