BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ManitobaMoose
Quartz | Level 8

This post is really about the @, athough while I am already posting, I might as well ask about the proc means statement, which I am just learning. l am learning from "Learning SAS by Example". There is no solution for this problem in the book, and I do not know why this is not working. Here is the code:

--------------------------------------

Data ReadSpd ;
     Input Score @ ;
        Do Method =  'A', 'B', 'C' ;
        Output ;
        End ;
Datalines ;
250 255 256 300 244 268 301 322 256 333
267 275 256 320 250 340 345 290 280 300
350 350 340 290 377 401 380 310 299 399
;

proc print Data=ReadSpd ;
run ;

Title "Mean Read Speeds" ;
proc means mean ;
    var Method ;
run ;

--------------------------------

1. The proc print statement only gives me 9 readings, not 30, as it should. When I change the code to read input Score @@ I get 90 readings. Why?

2. How do I get the means for each of the "Speed Readers", which are 'A', 'B'. and 'C'?   I want to know what the mean score was for each of the speed readers using the proc means statement.

Thanks a lot for your help!

4 REPLIES 4
ManitobaMoose
Quartz | Level 8

For some reason, when I rearranged the location of the input text to be within the Do statement, and used @@, now I get 30 readings. I guess the input variables must be within the DO statement?

Do Method =  'A', 'B', 'C' ;
        Input Score @@ ;
        Output ;
    End ;
Datalines ;

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

The INPUT statement is executable, so where you place it relative to the DO loop makes a big difference. The original code

input score @ ;
do method =  'A', 'B', 'C' ;
  output ;
end ;

Is saying read the first value from the line and hold the line for this iteration of the data step. Then output it three times with different values of METHOD.  So you only ever read the first score on each line. 

Your new code

do method =  'A', 'B', 'C' ;
  input score @@;
  output ;
end ;