BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

Hello!

I’m new to SAS and have recently started transferring Excel files into SAS for analysis. I had some issues with the formats and getting the missing values to be appropriately missing for numeric and character variables (period and space, respectively); after working at it, that part seems fixed. But now I have a serious issue: when I do anything with the data (in a DATA step), it deletes all my observations. I’ve tried creating new variables or assigning missing values, trying different data files, and everytime I do anything to alter the data, it leaves me with 0 observations and one or no variables. I’ve tried all kinds of files with different types of variables and different types of recoding, and I always end up losing all my observations. I’ve used SAS before (with data files that were not transferred from Excel) and I never had this issue but anything dealing with files originally from Excel (and I can’t avoid Excel for my job), this issue keeps happening. Is this an issue because of Excel or something with my recoding? Any suggestions would help! Also using plain language for dummies would be greatly appreciated as my knowledge of SAS and coding is pretty limited.

Below is a proc contents of one of my small datasets and the method I use to transfer Excel files into SAS.

# Variable          Type      Len        Format    Informat           Label

4 county             Char      14          $14         $14                  county

5 educ                Num       8          BEST.                              educ

2 gender            Char       6            $6           $6.                   gender

1 personid         Num        8          BEST.                              personaid

3 startdate         Char      10          $10.         $10.                 startdate