BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
susr
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

i'm pretty new in sas 9.4 administration and need a hint for user configuration.
The user authentication should work via Active Directory. I changed the settings in sasv9_usermods.cfg
as described in the documentation (SAS 9.4 Intelligence Platform: Security Administration Guide, Third Edition).
After that I added a user with the SAS Management Console.
If I now use the new configured user for the SAS Studio Logon the Logon-Page accepts the AD password
but presents a further logon dialog for the SASApp server.
How do I have to change the user configuration that the AD User will be accepted by SASApp?

Many thanks for your help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
alexal
SAS Employee

@susr,

I suppose that SAS has been installed on Linux? If Active Directory authentication has been configured on the OS level, you should be able to use PAM authentication in SAS:

http://support.sas.com/kb/49/432.html

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
PaulHomes
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Whilst it is possible to configure the SAS Metadata Server to authenticate users directly against AD/LDAP, it is not the most common approach. Normally the metadata server is left in its default configuration which passes authentication requests to the host operating system which then authenticates them against its own authentication provider (often AD, so that the metadata server is indirectly authenticating against AD). The approach you have taken, in configuring for direct AD/LDAP authentication, is normally only done when the metadata server needs to authenticate against a different server than the host operating system (e.g. a dedicated LDAP instance of external users where AD might be for internal users).