BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SASWayne
Quartz | Level 8

Hi All,

I'd like to know what are all the places in a SAS environment that are tied up internally with the SAS installer account?

Would I be able to start/stop SAS services with installer account even after removing its identity from SAS metadata?

I'm trying to remove the installer account from everywhere within SAS except for start/stop of SAS services, is it possible to achieve?

Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

IMHO, best practice is to use the SAS installer account just for installing and configuring and nothing else. Then have another SAS server account (often called sassrv) for running SAS servers, then a SAS admin account (often called sasadm) for administration. Of course things can be a bit more granular than that to suit your SAS site.

As a SAS administrator myself I don't have any problem just using my own account for manually starting and stopping services.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
SASWayne
Quartz | Level 8
The reason is to have two separate installer accounts for test and prod environments.

Now that the environments are built already with the same installer account, we want to atleast minimize the utilization of installer account in test environment. We have created another service account (to use instead of SAS installer account) with same OS level privileges of the installer account and we want to use that account for all SAS admin and monitoring operations.

So if I remove the SAS installer account's metadata profile, would I still be able to start/stop services with it?

How could I achieve very minimal usage of the original installer account?
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Why do you use the installer account to stop and start services? Any account with admin privileges is able to do that. 

SASWayne
Quartz | Level 8
@SASKiwi