BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
uacasper
Calcite | Level 5

I'm trying to silently uninstall an older version of SAS 9.4.  I can build a response file, but when I run:

"C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASDeploymentManager\9.4\sasdm.exe" -uninstall -quiet -wait -responsefile c:\Users\Administrator\Desktop\UninstallResponses.properties

It never finishes and doesn't even take any processor/disk time.  If I run it with -partialprompt instead of -quiet, the only question it asks is about what language to use. I have to assume that the -quiet install is waiting (silently and hidden) at that prompt.

The question about language definately came up when I was creating the response file (with -record).

Is there a way to force the language on the command line or modify the response file so it doesn't ask?

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
uacasper
Calcite | Level 5

Waiting for an answer, I started playing around with "silent" installs.  They don't work either!  What is the point of the Automating the SAS Installation on Multiple Machines documentation if it is not automatic?

I dutifully walk through the -record option selecting the install that I want.  When I try to play back the install, using the -quiet switch, it stalls.  I get questions about language, and confirmation of the license (just confirmation, it already knows the correct path), and more questions about language, and a couple more questions.  It is definately reading the answer file because I am not asked for which components to install.

Please, can anyone shed light on how to silently install SAS (Foundation)?

Thanks.

Mark_sas
SAS Employee

Note the doc reference you provided was for 9.2, but you should be using the 9.4 doc (based on your initial post).  You'll find that here:

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/biig/69172/PDF/default/biig.pdf