BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Saugata
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi All,

I am very new to SAS platform administration. I am a SAS programmer thrust into this, so please bear with me.Smiley Sad

It is time to renew our SAS license. I was checking the old licenses to figure out whether we can reduce the licensing cost by removing some unused components. While checking the present license, I have found some components which are beyond my limited undestanding. They are: SAS Workspace Server for Local Access, SAS Workspace Server for Enterprise Access, SAS Framework Data Server, SAS Integration Technologies.

Some idea about our SAS usage:

1. We have a JAVA frontend interface. Which is hosted in a web server.
  2. The users submit a request through this frontend.
  3. JAVA connect to a SAS which is hosted in the data server (different physical box than the web server) with sasadm user credentials. Here JAVA is using some API to call SAS as a procedure!!
  4. SAS executes base SAS codes and procedures over the data (residiing in SQL server or SAS datasets in the data server)and an output (Excel/Txt reports or SAS/SQL tables or SAS created JPG/GIF graphs) is created.
  5. These outputs are picked up by JAVA frontend and presented to the user (either as downloadable Excel reports or Graph pictures or displayed in the interface in a tabular format).

We are only using SAS base and Macros to do data manipulations or report generations. We are not using any BI capability as of now.