BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Bubba88
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi i'm new and trying to just solve this problem. Not familiar with SAS at all; I'm a sysadmin trying to just get this thing out the door to my users.

Trying to configure SMTP on a new SAS installation. Version 9.4. When I go to Tools > Options > System > Communications > E-mail > and try to specify "Emailhost", it's weird. I can select only from a drop-down that says "PW", PWD", and "PASSWORD". Um, I need to specify the smtp mail server!

Is there a config file somewhere I can edit to put this info in? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks, 

Bubba88

12 REPLIES 12
Timmy2383
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

What OS?

Bubba88
Fluorite | Level 6
Server 2012 R2
Timmy2383
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Is this a BI installation with metadata server?
Bubba88
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm sorry - I am not familiar with the plethora of SAS products. It's literally just "SAS". The title bar even says just "SAS".

I've attached a screen shot, if that helps!

I appreciate your efforts to help me with this issue!

2016-03-29 11_38_44-SAS.png
Timmy2383
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

No problem.  I'm not as familiar with Windows installations, but typically you can set the options in the config file (usually <sashome>\SASFoundation\9.4\sasv9_local.cfg in or <sashome>\SASFoundation\9.4\sasv9.cfg).  Try this note: http://support.sas.com/kb/53/215.html

Once set in the config file, it should be picked up with each new SAS session.

Bubba88
Fluorite | Level 6

THANK YOU! That is the type of config file I was looking for. I am ALMOST there!

I was able to put my smtp server address in that file, and have it show up properly in the system config now.