BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
fifsgrwilliams
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All,

I am a Sys Admin that is somewhat new to SAS, but loving what I have seen so far.

My questions is can SAS 9.4 on Windows be configured to use multiple Work directories as it can (or could) in 9.2 on UNIX-based systems?

Reference Link: UNIX Companion Guide

I imagine this would take the form of:

-work

E:\saswork

F:\saswork

method=random

Thanks in Advance!

10 REPLIES 10
tlk
Quartz | Level 8 tlk
Quartz | Level 8

Hello,

You configure it in the SASv9.cfg file form the detail about it go to http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/hostunx/67929/HTML/default/viewer.htm#n1fp5wzvkb61g4n11z...

To use more than one directory, you must put all your directories in a text file and the last line should be your choice of process method(random, space) and point -work toyourfile. 

You could also use another directory for the sort procedure, SAS is I/O bound so spreading the use of disk acces across different file system speed up things

fifsgrwilliams
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you kindly.

The link you provided appeared to be for a UNIX system, but our production environment is Windows Server 2008 R2. Do you know if the same logic applies for specifying work or scratch directories?

I will give this a try over the weekend, but naturally prefer to be as well-armed as possible going into a maintenance window. Does the file/folder require any special permissions or can i just clone the permissions the current work directory had?