BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
k_laiz
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Everyone,

A newbie here.

May i ask for your help on this.  The setup is as follows.

Client Application (SAS) <-> ODBC Driver Manager <-> ODBC Driver <-> Datasource (Vertica)

Server A (Windows Platform)

1.  Client Application

Server B (Unix Platform)

1. ODBC Driver Manager (unixODBC)

2. ODBC Driver (installed with Vertica DB)

3. DSN (Vertica)

Notes:

1.  I have a working SAS base foundation 9.2 working at my local machine with working SAS/CONNECT for ODBC interface.

2. Vertica DB is setup at the unix platform end together with the driver.

3.  unixODBC - still to be configured.

4.  Plan to use LIBNAME statement and/or SQL Pass-through facility to access Vertica DB in SAS app.

Sample ODBC configuration files that would be configured in unix env:

ODBC.INI

[VerticaDSN]

Description = VerticaDSN ODBC driver

Driver = /opt/vertica/lib/libverticaodbc_unixodbc.so

Database = <databasename>

Servername = localhost

UserName = dbadmin

Password =

Port = 5433

ConnSettings =

SSLKeyFile = /home/dbadmin/client.key

SSLCertFile = /home/dbadmin/client.crt

Locale = en_US

ODBCINST.INI

[VerticaDSN]

Description = ClickStream example database

Driver = /opt/vertica/lib/libverticaodbc_unixodbc.so

[ODBC]

Threading = 1

Questions/Concerns:

1.  With the assumption that the unix platform end is configured successfully, i.e. Vertica DB data is accessible through ODBC but locally, is there a way that SAS (in Server A) can discover the ODBC data source in Server B without any configuring needed on Server A side? Though i haven't tried the direct approach, say below, since i haven't configured unixODBC just yet.

libname vertica odbc dsn=verticaDSN user=dbadmin Password=;

2.  Would there be any other setup in case the above configuration is not feasible?

Any help is appreciated. Thank you! Smiley Happy          

10 REPLIES 10
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20