BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
titan31
Quartz | Level 8

Hi,

I know this has been asked a few times before and there's a bunch of documentation out there, but it's my first time so I just want to make certain I'm doing the SAS renewals correctly.

We've got our new licenses off SAS and all look fine, but I'm a bit unsure on where to run them in. We've got 3 servers, and 3 licenses for them (VA, Compute and Metadata), so do I go on to each server and run the Renew SAS Software utility and place the VA license to VA Server etc, or do I just run it once (from any of the servers, or my own pc) ?

When I do renew the licenses, do I need to go to everyone's PC who has SAS and renew their licenses locally, or once it's updated on the servers, is that fine? 

We've got 5 license files off SAS, 3 for Servers, 1 that is Wrkstn which looks like it's just for DataFlux and then 1 that is Wrkstn_Srv which seems to be for EMiner. What am I to with that Wrkstn_Srv one? 

I also see that the SAS documentation references a SID File. How do I differentiate that from the normal renewal file?

I know it's a good few questions, but any help is appreciated

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

What SAS version do you have? Up to SAS 9.4M2, you use the SAS Software Renewal Utility to apply licences. From SAS 9.4M3 you use the SAS Deployment Manager.

SAS server licences are only applied directly on the server(s) they are for if they contain the servers' names. You need to not only apply the licence, you also need to update the SID file in metadata. SID (Site Installation Data) and licence renewal file are the same thing. SAS docs / software have a tendency to use this type of jargon which I agree is confusing to new SAS users. You do this from SAS Deployment Manager.