Architecting, installing and maintaining your SAS environment

SAS Environment Manager

Contributor

SAS Environment Manager

Hi There,

I am very new to SAS environment manager. Seeking help in understanding some basic concepts.

I have just one machine , which has meta/web services running on it.

I am normally using sas.servers to restart my services. When I am starting the environment manager server and agent it is creating so many processes immediately.

Some of the examples are as below:

sas 24612 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:00 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42600) idle
sas 24613 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:00 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42602) idle
sas 24614 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:01 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42604) idle
sas 24615 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:39 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42606) idle
sas 24616 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:09 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42608) idle in transaction
sas 24617 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:59 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42610) idle in transaction
sas 24618 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:54 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42612) idle in transaction
sas 24619 18847 0 Jan04 ? 00:00:00 postgres: EVManager EVManager 10.195.21.60(42614) idle in transaction

I do not understand how and why these processes are getting generated?

What is the usual number of processes that gets created when SAS environment manager is started?

The purpose of this question is I want to schedule a weekly sas service restart and I want make sure each and every service came up properly. Please suggest if there is any easy way to validate if all services are up and running fine.

Trusted Advisor

Re: SAS Environment Manager

Posted in reply to suchismita

Hello @suchismita,

this behaviour is completely normal. The reasons are: