Architecting, installing and maintaining your SAS environment

SAS EG folder navigation

Contributor

SAS EG folder navigation

HI Experts,

I am a SAS admin on my environment. Our servers are on Linux (We do not want to use symbolic links).

I want users should see their own folders in Enterprise guide instead of seeing all that Linux folders from root dir.

I tried SASApp - Logical Workspace Server > SASApp - Workspace Server > properties  > Options  > Advanced option  > File Navigation 

Here , it just have 3 options but I need to set up a file navigation in such a way that  a particular group of user will see some folders and another group of people will see some other folder.

It is like mapping the file navigation parameter dynamically , so that it will be different for   different user groups.

Is this doable without creating additional server component?

Re: SAS EG folder navigation

Posted in reply to suchismita

What version of SAS do you have? Do you have SAS/Grid? Because if you do, you can customise things like Grid options, config options on a per-user or per-group basis.

Personal plug: Here's a paper I presented on SAS Grid Options sets at SAS Global Forum:

Easier Platform Administration using SAS v9.4 Grid Option Sets

Alternatively, what operating system do you have (Windows, Unix, Linux, etc)? Because it is possible to apply user-specific (and for some operating systems, group-specific) restricted options - such as folder locations.Note: These are operating system users and/or group, not metadata users and/or groups.

Have a look at the "Restricted Options" chapter in the following guides:

Please let us know how you get on.

Contributor

Posted in reply to AndrewHowell

Thanks @AndrewHowell,

Unfortunately,  We are not in SAS Grid, So I will not be able to use the the 1st option.

Moving to alternative option, We are on Linux OS.

I was going through the docs provided by you  (Configuration Guide for SAS 9.4 Foundation for UNIX Environments).