BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Gaetan
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I am an administrator of a sas platform with dozens of TeraBytes accessible to users. Some users do not master their processing and fulfill the mutualized WORK space, endangering the Platform. In this case, killing the sessions of these users is essential but I want to kill only the session that abnormally fills the WORK.

So, my question is simple, how to know which pid is associated with a specific directory of the mutualized WORK ?

Thank you for your answers,

Gaetan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@Gaetan wrote:

I add some information to my first message, a little light:
- we use a Linux system with the SAS Grid module

- we do not apply quota

I don't manage to make the link between WORK folder and PID :

SAS_work3F3000003EBC_xxxxxxx

With the tool "Easy Clculation" :

3F3000003EBC => 69475390996156

Where is my mistake ?

Gaetan

Use only the part of the directory name after the sequence of 0's, in your case 3EBC. That's what I meant by "the end of the directory name immediately before the _hostname". You should have a process 16060 (if it's not there, run the cleanwork utility; the directory should be gone after that)

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hello @Gaetan,

I am sure that the administration of big platforms is a challenge. Good for us, there are tools that are intended to make our job easier.

On one side, there are system tools that can help a lot. On windows I like Process Explorer, and on Linux htop works like a charm. As soon as you search for an specific folder or item or file, it will give you the pid and other items related to the process.