BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
dwunder
Calcite | Level 5

Hello!

I am quite new to SAS and recently deployed a 9.4 environment. Everything is looking good, however the professor would like the browser output to open a local server based firefox installation on the SAS server. If I understand that correctly, you would not need the Remote Browser Server installed on the remote workstation. Does anyone know how I would point the SAS output to the local browser? The OS is RHEL6. 

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

OK, so you have the X Windows session, which has a unique display address (echo $DISPLAY). The not so funny thing is that this is completely disconnected from what Enterprise Guide or SAS Studio is doing, so we need to make that connection ourselves.

To start any application on the SAS server (outside of SAS), you need your workspace server configured to allow XCMD. Do this in Management Console / Server Manager. The (probably SASApp) Workspace Server (not the Logical ... Workspace Server) has that configuration option.

Create your output as a HTML file.

Next I'd set DISPLAY to the value from your X Windows session and then start firefox from the command line. My preferred method looks like this:

filename oscmd pipe "export DISPLAY=your_display_address;firefox html_filename 2>&1";

data _null_;
infile oscmd;
input;
put _infile_;
run;

You should at least see the system's response to your commands in the SAS log.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
dwunder
Calcite | Level 5

Wow...thanks for that! I would think you could answer your own question by looking at the subject line, but then you would not get to be so personable, huh? 

I would like for server firefox to display output. 

Kurt_Bremser
Super User