BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
RobbieFreddie
Calcite | Level 5

I find it interesting to be one of the first discussions to be posted underneath this area!  I feel so special!

I am a novice system administrator and have been working on and soaking up the SAS world for the past 3 months.  I've had the chance to do several 9.2 installs on the server side, and client side of SAS BI technologies.  I'm learning more and more about configuring and deploying SAS out of the box, and helping it to fit into our proprietary environment here.

I did have something to discuss and bring up here, in regards to deploying SAS 9.2 side by side with a 9.1.3 on the same server.

We have a development environment and are currently finishing up the migration from 9.1.3 to 9.2.  There have been lots of modifications and changes that had to be made, and replicated from the 9.1.3 to the 9.2.

One concern I have noticed today, is that the 9.2 environment, did not have the SAS/CONNECT component "installed".  I've read up on the functions of SAS/CONNCET, and the Connect spawner server, and have not determined if it is a vital component to our environment here.  We have many different test/stage/development/production "sandboxes" and I have noticed that all of them generally have the SAS/Connect server setup.

When depolying SAS 9.2, on the same box as 9.1.3, could there have been conflicts with having them on the same box?

Does it hurt to not have (or to have) the SAS/Connect server setup in Management Console, even if it's full functions are not being utilized? (or is it a needed core component?)

I have noticed performance issues with logging onto the SAS 9.2 server, and the refreshing of libraries are considerably slower than in the 9.1.3 environment.

Anyone recommend some default settings that could affect log-in performance, and library performance issues for SAS 9.2?

Would love to get some input and discussions going on best practices to SAS Deployment.

Look forward to discussing!