BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SandeepE
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am relatively new to SAS environment.

I am working on a project, where I need to migrate

SAS 9.2 from solaris sparc physical hardware to a Solaris sparc virtual machine.

Can someone please point out some right set of resources which I can refer for this process.

Different components of SAS is installed in 2 components, I have the metadata server in a seperate machine.

Do I need to use Migration utility for this?

How can I transfer the license in this case?T

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Sandeep

5 REPLIES 5
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

Virtualization should not be different as to a physical machine. You are getting to share hardware what could have a big impact on performance. Get your specifications for that correct.  Keeping all names the same it should be the same as backup/restore your installation.
SAS 9.2 is an older version you could migrate to 9.4. This will require you to understand the new version first.  

---->-- ja karman --<-----
jag_SAS
SAS Employee

SandeepE,

If you are wanting to take exactly what you have on physical hardware and clone it over to virtual hardware you would use industry tools for going from physical to virtual technology. Once you have successfully done that, if the host names for either one of your two machines has changed you would use the Change Host Name tool available through the SAS Deployment Manager to update the host name(s) in your deployment. Documentation on this for 9.2 is located here, SAS(R) 9.2 Intelligence Platform: System Administration Guide, Second Edition.

Additional Notes:

• Please read the doc carefully and note things like, "CAUTION:The Update Host Name References tool is not supported by certain SAS products and solutions. Refer to SAS Installation Note 39344 to determine whether your installed products and solutions are supported. "