BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
L2Fly
Pyrite | Level 9

Hello -

We have two servers in our SAS development environment, OA and VA. As a new SAS Admin I want to know the best practice of archiving the log files?  When I search on servers, I will find many log files in various locations and not sure which one I should archive.  I am also wondering if I need to stop SAS services before copy and archiving the log files. 

I have looked at SAS 9.4 Intelligence Platform: System Administration Guide but couldn’t find answers to my questions.

Any help or direction is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AndrewHowell

Firstly, to locate your log files, the best place to look is in the $SASCONFIG/Lev1/Documents folder of each server, which contains files which were dynamically created when your platform was installed, including a detailed list of what was installed on that server, how to start & stop the services/spawners and (in your case) the location of all the log files.

Now what to do with your log files. SAS does not have a log file archiving & purging policy - that's up to you.

My suggestion is each month, in each folder zip the previous months' logs (201701.zip, 201702.zip, etc), and delete any logs older than (say) 3 months - if you REALLY need log files older than that, you should be able to retrieve them from your server's filesystem backup.

Best of luck.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ArtC
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

If you have not already seen it, you may find this article of interest https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/Sweep-up-my-SAS-logs/ta-p/257385.

L2Fly
Pyrite | Level 9

Thank you ArtC for your reply and info.  I did go ahead and downloaded LogConfigSweeper utility in our development environment. Here is the issue I am encountering with: