BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Quentin
Super User

Hi All,

I'm in a bit over my head (I'm a developer, not an admin), but recently started thinking about the possibility of hosting a SAS BI server on Amazon public cloud.  Is anyone doing this?  (I have seen some posts about VA, but haven't seen EBI mentioned much).  e.g. SAS Cloud, Deploy SAS Software in the Cloud | SAS

So what would that mean?  Instead of buying our own Linux server(s) and dealing with hardware upgrades/scaling/backups/etc we would rent space on AWS?  Then we would license the same (similar) SAS from SAS, and install EBI logical servers on the Amazon cloud?  And after that from a developer point of view connecting a SAS client (EG/SMC/DI Studio) to a SAS server in Amazon's cloud would feel the same as connecting to a SAS server sitting downstairs in our server farm?  And I suppose if we were dealing with medium size data, we would also put some database on AWS as well (SQL server perhaps, if don't need BIG data), so that data and analytics were close together?

Just wondering if folks have done that with BI server, and if it is worth thinking through.  If the costs are comparable (SAS licensing costs and infrastructure costs), seems like life might be a bit easier to let Amazon deal with maintaining the physical severs, scaling storage/computing power when needed, etc.

Thoughts?  Or references to UG papers/presentations/white papers that go beyond marketing?

Thanks!

--Q.

BASUG is hosting free webinars Next up: Mike Sale presenting Data Warehousing with SAS April 10 at noon ET. Register now at the Boston Area SAS Users Group event page: https://www.basug.org/events.
9 REPLIES 9
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Ask SAS about the licensing. Then start to worry about the technical problems. Don't be surprised if SAS asks a boatload of $$$ or simply njets your proposal.

And: