BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ruddiger
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am brand new to the SAS administration world so please forgive any ignorance on my part.  I have no SAS programming background either.  I do have other tool administration experience in the Linux world, so that is how I got volunteered to be the SAS admin.

I have recently installed SAS 9.4 on a Linux VM.  The install went fine and I am able to run batch jobs with no problem.

However, when I try to connect using the SAS Management Console I get the following error:

Connection refused: connect
The application could not log on to the server "leustasas:8561". No server is available at that port on that machine.

From what I understand this message is telling me, I have not started the SAS server (listener?) and until I do that I will not be able to connect.  This is where my research has fallen flat.  I cannot figure out what command I need to run to start the server.  I do struggle with how the SAS documentation is laid out, but there is talk of getting me some training.  Soon, I hope...

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ruddiger.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

I Might be wrong, but I believe you have only SAS binaries, no metadata or object spawners yet.

When you are installing the software, you are prompted if you want to Install and/or Configure, and I believe you selected only Install

While you don;t have configured your software, you won;t have any service as Metadata or Application servers. Therefore, you cannnot connect with the SAS Management Console.

If you don't know how to configure SAS, pelase contact your SAS contact or you can read the guide: http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/biig/69172/PDF/default/biig.pdf

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hi,