BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
crobinson58
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I'm relatively new to SAS and I am trying to figure out how to run a linear probability model on my data. I keep seeing different answers on what the correct code is to run in order to achieve this so I would really appreciate any help! I can provide more information if needed as well. 

Thank you

4 REPLIES 4
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ

A linear probability model directly models binomial probabilities. An example can be seen in this note using PROC GENMOD by specifying DIST=BINOMIAL and LINK=IDENTITY in the MODEL statement. However, it is rarely a good idea unless the observed probabilities are all in the mid-range (such as 0.25 to 0.75). Otherwise, the model typically does not fit well and very often runs into estimation problems because this model allows predicted values to fall outside of the valid [0,1] range. That is why a link function such as the LOGIT or PROBIT link is typically used as they both restrict the predictions to the valid range. If your reason for wanting to fit a linear probability model is to use the model to predict probabilities or to estimate differences on the probability scale, this can still be easily done using a logit model that can fit well. The above note shows how that can be done using the Margins macro or using PROC LOGISTIC followed by the NLMeans macro.

crobinson58
Calcite | Level 5

I'm looking to model a dataset that would be able to predict whether someone is having a heart stroke, where the dependent variable is just yes or no. Would the probit link function be the most ideal for this scenario?

crobinson58
Calcite | Level 5
Not necessarily predict it but give me the probability of it.
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ