BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Vanessa2
Calcite | Level 5
Hi,
I am new to sas studio. I was learning how to create libname and I was doing an
e-learning course. However, I am stuck with these codes which I obtained from the
course. At first, I use properties in Data and paste it in the filepath.
When I run the libname, it says STAT1 does not exist. I tried to create a libname
and still it does not work. I am stuck and I cannot carry on with the course.
Can you help please?

%let homefolder=FILEPATH/myshortcuts/Myfolders/ECST142/data/STAT1;

libname STAT1 "&homefolder";

Vanessa
8 REPLIES 8
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

In the STAT1 course, you need to replace FILEPATH with YOUR path to the folder that you unzipped.

If you are using SAS University Edition in a virtual machine, typically you do NOT put the files in a "shortcuts" folder. We tell you to write the folder directly under your My Folders top node. In this case, the path would be something like:

%let homefolder=/folders/myfolders/ECST142/data;

libname STAT1 "&homefolder";

or else it would be something like this:

%let homefolder=/folders/myfolders/ECST142/data;

libname STAT1 "/folders/myfolders/ECST142/data";

(note that STAT1 programs usually expect to find the helper variable &homefolder defined as the path to the data folder)

Note how the top folder path is /folders/myfolders. The fastest way to find the correct full path to use is to go to SAS Studio and find your ECST142/data folder. Right click on the folder name and choose Properties. When you do that, the Location field in the Properties window will show you the EXACT path that you need to use.

Hope this helps,

cynthia

Vanessa2
Calcite | Level 5
I was trying to use proc import and use the codes:
proc import datafile="filepath/data/eu_sport_trade.xlsx"
DBMS=xlsx
out = eu_sport_trade
replace;
run;
but I have a message saying:
physical file does not exist
how can access this dataset
Vanessa
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User