BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Eileen1496
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all,

I'm new to use SAS/CONNECT to run codes simultaneously on multiple cores and CPUs. I found sometimes it works, it use 90% of the CPU and things are done in very short time. But sometimes it does not. I did not change the structure, so I was wondering maybe this is related to the type of task I'm doing? 

The time when it works for me is: i have multiple datasets which contains lots of records of different user_id, I want to split the data by putting user_id starting with the same 2 digit together. For instance, put user_id start with 10 from all datasets together, do the same for 11-99. 

The time when it does not work for me is: I try to do an inner join between 2 datasets. I think since both of them require computing (instead of just read into memory, which i believe does not use CPU), they should all be speed up by using SAS/CONNECT. 

I put my code for the second task (the one not working) below, can you help me see what might be the reason? (like it is because of the task itself, or i miss some code that prevent SAS/CONNECT from working properly?)

Thanks a lot!

libname raw "D:\data\raw";
libname cleaned "D:\data\cleaned";
libname temp "D:\temp"; 
libname user2022 "D:\data\cleaned\user_ever";
libname root "D:\data\cleaned\uid_wide";
libname fake "E:\work_fake";

data fake.rcid_2022;
set cleaned.comp_rcid_crswalk_2022;
run;

options sascmd="sas";
options CPUCOUNT= 45;
%let _start_dt = %sysfunc(datetime());

/* Prosess 10 */
signon task10 inheritlib=(raw cleaned root user2022 fake);
rsubmit task10 wait=no;
proc sql threads;
    create table user2022.user_2022_10_ind_0 as
    select *
    from root.root_10_ind_0 as a
    inner join fake.root_2022 as b
    on a.root= b.root;
quit;
endrsubmit;

/* 89 more such process */

waitfor _all_;
signoff _all_;

/* Print total duration */
data _null_;