BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
stataq
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

I am trying to get a clear picture of when can anyone use %do %end and do end in macros.

What kind of situation demands the need of %do loops in a macros and do loops in macros?

The reason I ask this question I saw people are using both %do and do within the same marco. I am not sure why. whether it required two types of do loops, or it was written by two person with different writing habit.  🤣 I am new to macro, please guide me on this.

Please share your thoughts. If you know why we sometime we NEED % within marco, please also share your knowledge.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

DO is a SAS statement.  You use it when that is the SAS code you want to run.

%DO is a MACRO statement.  You use it when that is the macro logic you need so that the macro can generate the SAS code you want.

Let's make a trivial example where you might have both.  Say you need adjust a variable's value in some way.  For example we could decide we need to convert the value to the absolute value.

If you just have one variable you could do this:

data want;
  set have;
  x= abs(x);
run;

If you have multiple variables you might want to do this:

data want;
  set have;
  array list x y z;
  do index=1 to dim(list);
    list[index] = abs(list[index]);
  end;
  drop index;
run;

Now what if want to make it easy to change the dataset names and the list of variable names.  So you might create a macro to generate the SAS code for you.

%macro abs(dsin,dsout,varlist);
data &dsout;
  set &dsin;
%if %sysfunc(countw(&varlist,%str( )))=1 %then %do;
  &varlist = abs(&varlist);
%end;
%else %do;
  array list &varlist;
  do index=1 to dim(list);
  end;
  drop index;
%end;
run;
%mend abs;

So to generate the first program the macro call would be:

%abs(dsin=have,dsout=want,varlist=x)