BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Eileen1496
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all,

I'm new to SAS, while I was able to realize the results I want, I found my SAS is running "inefficiently".

So for example, I'm trying to get rid of parenthesis and any text inside the parenthesis of a variable (com_up). The new variable is called com_par.

The number of observations are around 19700000, which is a lot I think so should take some time. But today I wait for more than half and hour and the code is still running. I checked my task manager, it says SAS is using only 0.1% CPU.

The file is on my google drive but I synchronize it to my local computer. I have 128 gb ram. The code I use is as follows:

data new_db;

set old_db;

com_par = prxchange('s/\(([^\)]+)\)//i',-1,com_up);

run;

I was wondering does this means SAS is not actually working? And is there any solutions on this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Running SAS programs accessing remotely-stored data is nearly always slower than local data. I suggest you copy your data to a local drive and do a test run on that source, then compare SAS log run times.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Eileen1496
Obsidian | Level 7

I saw the copy of the code in black. I also saw this before and when it finished running there will be blue lines showing me the running time and number of observations. So I think I submit the whole code, but it is really weird in the task manager, only 0.1% CPU used before the result comes out.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Please examine your code carefully. There is a semi-colon missing.

--
Paige Miller
Eileen1496
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, yes you are right, it is a typo when I post the question. The code has semicolon.

ballardw
Super User

@Eileen1496 wrote:

Hi all,

I'm new to SAS, while I was able to realize the results I want, I found my SAS is running "inefficiently".