BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi SAS Experts!

In SAS EG, we can change the code easily among programs in one project, but I am not sure we can do it in SAS Base because it seems to me that SAS Base does not have the code flow as SAS EG

My97_0-1612326410128.png

I am wondering if you can suggest me how to create the code flow like this in SAS Base?

2. And I face a problem when trying to inserting the code generate from SAS EG to Base SAS. It just show the Japanese character. For example:

My97_1-1612326539935.png

And what it shows is

My97_2-1612326565744.png

Can you please help me to sort it out.

Many thanks and warmest regards.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

am a very old-school SAS coder, but my main interface to the SAS system has been EG for a long time.

We have a BI Server setup, and using the graphical interface over the network is very slow, as it creates tons of traffic. EG "talks" to the server only when sending code or receiving results.

While coding, the response time of Base SAS via X Windows over the network (add VPN because of home office) is noticeable, while EG lets me type and re-type at normal speed.

I rarely make use of the EG tasks, mainly using code nodes, but sometimes I use the tasks to get a quick code piece for a non-familiar procedure on which to expand.

DM only makes sense when SAS runs natively on your workstation, which should not be the case in a larger environment (multiple users), as it costs licenses and is a bear to administrate.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
andreas_lds
Jade | Level 19