BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rduken
Fluorite | Level 6

I am a relative beginner to SAS. I am working with previously written code that creates a comma separated macro list, and then uses this in a passthrough Oracle SQL query like so (this is a simplified example):

proc sql;
    select id into :idlist separated by ',' from currentcustomerpool;
    connect to oracle (&credentials.);
    create table customerinfo as
        select * from connection to oracle (
            select * from custtables.customerAccountInfo
            where customer in (&idlist.) and age > 21
         );
    disconnect from oracle;
quit;

Using the macrovar idlist imposes a 1000 id limit because of an inherent SQL limitation on IN clauses. I would like to get rid of the idlist macrovar by using a temporary SQL table that I could join to or use as part of a subquery inside the SQL passthrough block. In the actual codebase, I have to keep the passthrough blocks; in other words, I cannot use a solution that moves away from passthrough.

I have attempted to come up with a sample piece of code to accomplish this like so (after a bit of googling):

libname tmpdat oracle connection=global dbmstemp=yes dbcommit=0 &credentials.;

proc sql;
    connect to oracle (&credentials.);
    execute (
        CREATE GLOBAL TEMPORARY TABLE tmpcustids (
            ID NUMBER
        ) ON COMMIT PRESERVE ROWS
    ) by oracle;

insert into tmpdat.tmpcustids select id from currentcustomerpool;
        select * from connection to oracle ( 
            select * from custtables.customerAccountInfo 
            where customer in (select * from tmpcustids) and age > 21
        );
    disconnect from oracle;
quit;