BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
aylee214
Calcite | Level 5

I'm pretty new to using SAS for creating graphs and charts. I copied some programming from a SAS program I found online and it did help create a graph that I like, but the names overlap. I was wondering if there was a way to create something that wouldn't overlap? I have provided the code and attached the chart. 

proc boxplot data=Work.FruitOutliers;

plot ErrorPer*DateofReport /

boxstyle=schematicid

nohlabel;

id Outliers;

label ErrorPer = 'Errors';

run;

goptions reset=symbol;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Should be doable with GTL. This is an example from the documentation and you should have the SASHELP.CARS data set it uses.

proc template;
  define statgraph boxplot;
    begingraph;
      entrytitle "City Mileage for Vehicle Types";
      layout overlay /
        xaxisopts=(offsetmin=0.1 offsetmax=0.1);
        boxplot y=mpg_city x=type /
          datalabel=make spread=true;
      endlayout;
    endgraph;
  end;
run;

proc sgrender data=sashelp.cars template=boxplot;
  label type="Vehicle Type";
run;

You would obviously change the text for Entrytitle (or remove entirely) and specify your variables for X= and y=. Datalabel=Make tells SAS to use the value the Make variable as a label for the outliers. The Spread=True horizontally spreads values that are the same on the Y axis so you can see separate markers to the labels may have issues if you have lots of these. You would also change the Sgrender code to reference your data set and likely the Label of the X variable. It would use any default label for your X and Y variables on the axis labels.

The xaxisopts used provide some space between the boxes on the left and right limits of the graph. Sometimes the defaults will crowd things up to the limits of the graph area.

View solution in original post