BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mccusker1818
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

My problem is to first find the top 5 facility countries that had the most sales, which I have done by using PROC FREQ.

help1.PNG

 which gave me the list of countries by number of sales shown below.

help2.PNG

 Now, I know the top 5 countries out of 30.

The next task is to predict future sales for 3 months for these (top 5) countries.

I have no idea how to do this... So far I have this code:

help3.PNG

 which gives me this plot:

help4.PNG

 I have no knowledge of how to use PROC FORECAST to project the next 3 months of sales...

Any help is appreciated!

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello,

I would certainly check if the de-duplication of dates makes sense ( the way you did it ).

@SASKiwi has proposed to use NODUPKEY option on PROC SORT statement to get rid of duplicate dates (within one and the same facility), but he also warned that this may not be the right way ! Maybe you have to sum the sales amounts on 2 or 3 same dates within one facility. The latter can be done with PROC TIMESERIES.

With regard to the forecasting amount 3 times being the same, that's because the default model is simple (single) exponential smoothing (MODEL=SIMPLE).

There are 8 possible ESM's, you could try them all and choose the best one based on some goodness-of-fit criterion you have learned in class (like MAPE = Mean absolute percentage error).

Here's what you can put on the FORECAST statement behind the forward slash ( / ) :

MODEL=model-name

specifies the forecasting model to be used to forecast the time series. You can specify the following forecasting model-names:

NONE