BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed

SAS® Workload Orchestrator- Associate Kubernetes Cluster Nodes With Queues

Started ‎11-10-2023 by
Modified ‎11-10-2023 by
Views 674

As of the stable 2023.08 release, the SAS® Workload Orchestrator offering is now included, and enabled by default, as part of the SAS® Viya platform deployment.

SAS® Workload Orchestrator is the component that provides the SAS Viya administrator with the ability to manage the SAS Programming Runtime (SPRE) workload (SAS Compute Server, SAS Connect Server, and SAS Batch Server). When enabled, workload is managed using queues that offer multiple settings to fine-tune how the workload will be scheduled.

As a SAS Viya administrator, I may want to redirect workload to specific Kubernetes cluster nodes to ensure service and performance to certain groups of users. Using queues configuration, the SAS Viya administrator can now associate Kubernetes cluster nodes to a specific queue which will force any workload sent to that queue to wind up on its associated node. In this blog, I will show you an example of how to configure nodes and queues to accomplish this. 

Workload managed by queues

As soon as the SAS® Workload Orchestrator solution is deployed and enabled in your SAS Viya deployment each SPRE job that is submitted for processing, whatever its SAS Viya server context, is placed in a queue. The job remains in the queue until resources are available for the job to be executed. All jobs submitted to the same queue share the same scheduling, control policy, and resources. When SAS® Workload Orchestrator is enabled, the Queues become the primary method to manage the SAS Viya deployment workload.

By default, there is a single queue that is defined for the SAS® Workload Orchestrator: the default queue. If no other queues are defined, all workload is automatically sent against this default queue.