BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Nellysas
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am new to programming and I have doubts that maybe it could be insignificant but are important for me to understand. I would like to ask what is the difference between a scope session and a global session, it will be fine if someone can give an example.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Nelly de la.s Casas

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello,

It's not the CAS session itself that is session-scope or global scope, it's about the CAS tables created in that session.

Remember session-scope tables can only be seen by a single CAS session and are dropped from CAS when that session is terminated, while global-scope tables can be seen publicly and will not be dropped when the CAS session is terminated.

Tip and tricks to promote CAS tables from session-scope to global-scope
By Ryan Lolli on SAS Users October 26, 2017
https://blogs.sas.com/content/sgf/2017/10/26/tip-and-tricks-to-promote-cas-tables-from-session-scope...

BR, Koen

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello,

It's not the CAS session itself that is session-scope or global scope, it's about the CAS tables created in that session.

Remember session-scope tables can only be seen by a single CAS session and are dropped from CAS when that session is terminated, while global-scope tables can be seen publicly and will not be dropped when the CAS session is terminated.

Tip and tricks to promote CAS tables from session-scope to global-scope
By Ryan Lolli on SAS Users October 26, 2017
https://blogs.sas.com/content/sgf/2017/10/26/tip-and-tricks-to-promote-cas-tables-from-session-scope...

BR, Koen

Nellysas
Fluorite | Level 6
Thanks so much for your answer and for the link attached which helps me so much.

Best regards,
Nelly de las Casas.

sas-innovate-2024.png

Available on demand!