ZIPcode Cases   longi   lati
43613   1   -83.604452  41.704307
44140   1   -81.92148   41.48982
46052   1   -86.470531  40.051603
48009   22  -83.213883  42.544619
48017   6   -83.151815  42.535396
48021   7   -82.946167  42.463894
48025   19  -83.265758  42.523195

I want to map the cases by zip code. The outline should be of the zip code boundary and the shading should be according to number of cases, darker as cases increase.

If anyone can tell me how to do this either in SAS or R, that'll be great. I'm very new to R...Tried a lot of code I found online but can't get what I want. Any help is appreciated.

Thank you!

10 REPLIES 10
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20

There are many resources that show you how. Have you seen Creating ZIP Code-Level Maps with SAS

Xinxin
Obsidian | Level 7

I have looked at code online but I don't know how to project my data on the map and get the shading. Also, I don't want the whole country or state but zoomed in to a part of the state. Also, yesterday and today, the govt census site is down, so will check again later. Thanks.

GraphGuy
Meteorite | Level 14

To plot your data on a choropleth map (filling in the boundaries of the zip codes with shades/colors), you won't need your lat/long coordinates, and you won't necessarily need to project the map (for a small-ish area, such as when dealing with zip codes, it won't really matter whether the map is projected or unprojected, or what projection it's using). But we don't ship zipcode boundary maps, so you'll have to download them from somewhere, and Proc Mapimport them, etc. (as the papers/examples show).

I know this isn't exactly what you're asking for, but ... something that might be a lot less work, and might be a good way to get started, would be to plot your data with a Proc SGmap bubble map. Here's a quick example, using the data you posted:

data my_data;
input ZIPcode Cases longi lati;
datalines;
43613 1 -83.604452 41.704307
44140 1 -81.92148 41.48982