BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
aalborz-ema
Calcite | Level 5

I'm an administrator of SAS 9.4. I have no SAS knowledge. I inherited it after installation by a consultant.

Now I need to add a new user account, but I don't know how. I opened a support ticket with SAS support.

They instructed me to install SAS Management Console on the SAS server, but when I attempted, it said it could not be completed.

Please see attached screenshot.

Any ideas how I can get this working?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
gwootton
SAS Super FREQ

If a SAS Metadata Server was installed on your server, then you should have SAS Management Console installed already as well. You can run this from:
<SASHome>/SASManagementConsole/9.4/sasmc

Here is the relevant documentation on User Administration in SAS 9.4, which includes adding users:

User Administration Tasks
https://go.documentation.sas.com/doc/en/bicdc/9.4/mcsecug/n1f7xz9ptgwpdkn1s6050d4eadvd.htm

Edit to add: The failure you are encountering when trying to install is because you cannot perform an installation while SAS is running, but as I mentioned, SAS Management Console (SMC) is probably already installed.

--
Greg Wootton | Principal Systems Technical Support Engineer

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
gwootton
SAS Super FREQ

If a SAS Metadata Server was installed on your server, then you should have SAS Management Console installed already as well. You can run this from:
<SASHome>/SASManagementConsole/9.4/sasmc

Here is the relevant documentation on User Administration in SAS 9.4, which includes adding users:

User Administration Tasks
https://go.documentation.sas.com/doc/en/bicdc/9.4/mcsecug/n1f7xz9ptgwpdkn1s6050d4eadvd.htm